31 July 2016 to 5 August 2016
Gaylord Hotel and Conference Center
US/Eastern timezone

Redshifting and harmonic radiation in the nonlinear Laser-Thomson scattering interaction

1 Aug 2016, 16:15
Woodrow Wilson B (Gaylord Hotel)

Woodrow Wilson B

Gaylord Hotel

Oral Working Group 7 WG7


Dr. Arie Irman (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


We present high resolution angle and energy resolved measurements on the nonlinear laser-Thomson x-ray scattering. Beside the overall radiation is broadened and redshifted, the high order harmonics are also observed.


Thomson scattering of intense laser pulses from relativistic electrons not only allows for the generation of bright x-ray pulses but also serves as a laboratory for strong field physics and nonlinear interactions. We present high resolution angle and energy resolved measurements on the laser-Thomson x-ray distribution generated by colliding picosecond electron bunches from the ELBE linear accelerator with counter-propagating laser pulses from the 150 TW DRACO Ti:Sapphire laser system. As we increase the laser intensity, the electrons start to move in more complex trajectories resulting to emission of x-ray photons at higher harmonics which extends beyond 24 keV. Furthermore the overall radiation spectrum shows the broadening and redshift effect as predicted in the theory of intense laser-relativistic electron interaction in the classical picture. The amount of scattered photon also increases one order of magnitude to 106 photons per shot in the full opening emission angle.

Are you a student? No

Primary author

Dr. Arie Irman (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Dr. Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr. Alexander Köhler (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Dr. Andreas Wagner (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Dr. Axel Jochmann (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr. Jakob Krämer (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr. Jurjen Couperus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Dr. Michael Budde (Danfysik A/S) Dr. Michael Bussmann (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Dr. Michael Kuntzsch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr. Omid Zarini (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr. Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Prof. Thomas Cowan (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Dr. Ulf Lehnert (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Prof. Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now